The Comité

Mandate

The Comité exercises its jurisdiction over police officers, wildlife protection officers, special constables, highway controllers and UPAC investigators who must answer to the Comité for breaches and omissions charged against them when investigations from the Commissaire warrants such action.

In this case, the Comité hears throughout Quebec and disposes of the citation, a document filed by the Commissaire against a police officer, wildlife protection officer, special constable, highway controller or UPAC investigator . The Comité decides whether the police officer has violated the Code of ethics of Québec police officers and, if such is the case, he imposes a penalty.

In processing citations, the Comité holds a public hearing and hands down a reasoned written decision. The Comité sits in offices in Montréal and travels to outlying areas, where the sittings are generally held in court houses.

If the Commissaire has dismissed the complaint following the investigation, the citizen can submit an application review to the Comité. The latter can then confirm or quash the decision of the Commissaire.

The Comité also rules on application for remission allowing any police officer, wildlife protection officer, special constable, highway controller or UPAC investigator who has been penalized for breach of the Code of Ethics of Québec Police officers (except for destitution or dismissal), to submit an application for remission for their actions.

Le Comité

Mandat

La juridiction du Comité s'exerce sur les policiers, les agents de protection de la faune, les constables spéciaux, les contrôleurs routiers et les enquêteurs de l'UPAC qui sont tenus de répondre devant lui des manquements ou des omissions qui leur sont reprochés lorsque l'enquête du Commissaire à la déontologie policière en a conclu ainsi.

Dans ce cas, le Comité siège partout au Québec pour entendre et disposer de la citation, document déposé par le Commissaire contre un policier ou un autre agent de la paix. Le comité décide si le policier ou autre agent de la paix a commis un acte dérogatoire au Code de déontologie des policiers du Québec et, si c'est le cas, il impose une sanction.

Dans le traitement des citations, le Comité tient une audience publique et rend une décision écrite et motivée. Le Comité siège dans ses locaux de Montréal et se déplace partout ailleurs au Québec où il siège généralement dans les palais de justice.

Si le Commissaire a rejeté une plainte après enquête, le citoyen peut représenter une demande de révision au Comité. Ce dernier peut alors confirmer ou renverser la décision du Commissaire.

Le Comité statue également sur les demandes d'excuse qui permettent à tout policier, agent de protection de la faune, constable spécial, contrôleur  routier ou enquêteur de l'UPAC sanctionné pour un acte dérogatoire au Code de déontologie des policiers du Québec (sauf la destitution et le congédiement) de présenter une demande d'excuse à l'égard de cet acte.