Composition and organization of the Commissaire à la déontologie policière

Commissaire and Commissaire adjoint

The government appoints a Commissaire and a Commissaire adjoint for a period not exceeding five years. Their mandates can be renewed.

The Commissaire adjoint exercises the powers delegated by the Commissaire. In the absence of the Commissaire, or if the latter is unable to act, he or she is replaced by the Commissaire adjoint. 


The Commissaire counts on the collaboration and expertise of regular and casual employees divided into three decentralized branches, in two offices: one in Québec City, the other in Montréal.